Use the File Transfer Utility to publish changes to your legacy site from www-dev.temple.edu to www.temple.edu.
When prompted to login please use the following format:
Login: username (e.g. tom)
Password: Accessnet password
Once logged in, click on File Transfer utility to load the utility.
Please be patient while waiting for the FTU to load, as its speed depends on the size of your website.
During the loading phase, FTU is comparing the files on the development server to the files on WWW. It then presents the files in your website similar to how files are displayed in Dreamweaver or similar editors. Once finished loading, a "Select All" checkbox appears at the top of the page to giving the website administrator an option to transfer the entire website.
The more files you have in your website, the longer it will take FTU to process and compare those files.
Checkboxes appear to the left of each sub-directory and for each file that can be transferred to www.temple.edu. If a file does not have a checkbox next to it, then the FTU has determined that the file has not been updated from the version currently in production at www.temple.edu.
Please note that at least one file must be selected in order for a transfer to take place.
When selecting a folder for transfer, FTU will take some time to ensure that all transferable files are selected. During this time, the web page may seem unresponsive to any further action, although this is not the case. Please be patient. It should not take longer than 3 minutes.
To remove files from production you must go to the FTU and publish any changes (you cannot publish without adding or editing a file.) Any files removed from www-dev.temple.edu will not show up in the FTU, and will be permanently deleted once any other changes are published.
(Located near the upper-left corner of the screen, the link reads Click here for the FTU Blacklist.)
By no means required, the FTU Blacklist is available on a per-WebTools basis. The blacklist is used to skip over those files and directories which:
- do not need to be listed, thus speeding up the time it takes for FTU 2 to load.
- do not need to be transfered because the files on Develop have not changed in a long period of time.
Upon first use, instructions and a sample blacklist are generated:
# Default blacklist file for speeding up the loading of FTU. Update as needed.
# Use of this blacklist is NOT a requirement.
# This blacklist will match against files AND folders.
# The AppDev, WebTools and _vti folders are automatically excluded.
# Lockfiles, backup files are also automatically excluded.
In this example, any file or directory that contains anything named "Copy of", "AppDev", "Webtools" and "_vti" will be skipped over. For best results, use whole words. Using smaller or partial words is NOT recommended as the blacklist will catch more than you would like. The blacklist can be edited as often as needed. To temporarily block a single blacklist pattern put a # at the beginning of the line.
Once the blacklist has been updated, the FTU MUST be reloaded to read the blacklist.
As show in the above image, the FTU will either display the default "Could not read blacklist" or the number of patterns it has read in.
Transferring and Logging
Once the "Transfer Files" button is pressed, the requested files are sent to a background program. When the FTU begins to process a request, any other requests for the same website will be denied. It also creates the log file of who requested the transfer and at what time the request was made. Then begins the transferring the files and directories from www-dev.temple.edu to www.temple.edu. Every transfer is logged with an individual success or failure result. If a failure occurs, it documents what the failure was and proceeds with the next file.